This is a dramatic story meant to be somewhat humorous. Enjoy!

I get home from school and instantly go up to my room, excited to use my new iPad. I had just gotten it for Christmas, and man, I was enjoying it.

I open the bright blue case and just stare in awe of the amazing beauty that is in front of me. So close I could reach out and touch it. I took a deep breath and turned it on, not worthy of using it but still, it was gracious enough to let me enjoy it.

And then it hits me. I forgot to plug it in last night. I look at the battery level, scared to see what it has descended to.

10%.

This can’t be happening. I tell myself to stay calm and that it says 100 instead of 10. But who am I kidding? I see the crisp letters reading 10. I slap myself to wake up from this cruel, despicable dream, but to no avail.

“Mother, mother!” I scream out. “I need you! I don’t know what to do!”

I fall down onto my bed, hyperventilating yet unable to take a single breath. My mother comes up the stairs.

“Honey, what’s wrong?” she says, worried. “Are you alright?”

Nothing is right. This world is entirely wrong. I’m the only one that sees it.

“Mother, my iPad is running out of battery,” I say to her.

She tells me I’m being dramatic and that everything is alright. I tell her that nothing is alright, and she just laughs and exits the room. There is no time to laugh. Not in this situation. I start to lose all hope in my mother. She knows nothing, and I know all.

I take my iPad and rush downstairs. I need to do this. I need to do a battle in the game. Not just a game, THE game. The perfect game, the flawless, amazing game.

Clash of Clans.

I try to attack, but my soldiers are dead. I hurry to train them, using up the last of my gems to train them.

I’m ready for this. I’ve never been more ready in my life. I battle a random opponent. They are a worthy opponent, almost at my strength. Almost. They take out most of my troops, but not before I’ve destroyed half their town. I proceed to utterly obliterate their army and take their gold. And that’s when it hits me.

My battery is running out.

I do everything I can. I turn the brightness down, turn off Bluetooth, but it just doesn’t work. My iPad is at 2%, warning me that I need to plug it in. I send in the last of my troops, just as it drops one more percent.

There’s no turning back now.

I have hope in my army. They have destroyed nearly the rest of the town, and have taken all the gold. But what still stands is the center of their town, and oh, it stands. It stands strong and firm, right in the middle of their town. My troops march towards it. They all strike, and what a blow it receives. But it’s not enough. My battery is depleting and they are still whacking away at the building.

And finally, it is destroyed. I quickly finish the round and receive my loot. And just in time, too.

My iPad shuts down.

