Write about your strongest memory of heart-pounding belly-twisting nervousness: what caused the adrenaline? Was it justified? How did you respond?

My strongest memory of heart-pounding belly-twisting nervousness…

That’s a hard one. I don’t really get nervous. But I do remember some times where I was very nervous.

It was when I was finding out who would be going to the African American Quiz Bowl at my school. The teacher purposely waited to build up the suspense. 2 other people were already picked, and he was about to pick the 3rd and final member. But before he announced it, he started talking about things, and how if we didn’t make it we always had next year.

I couldn’t take it any longer. Neither could any of my fellow members. We kept telling him to hurry up. But he took his time. He was about to announce it again, but then he took his time before telling who was going to go.

I believe my nervousness was justified. We were all looking forwards to it. It was one of the entire reasons that I kept practicing and studying. But when he finally announced it, he said my name.

I was really happy, but at the same time, upset. I had to study on my own time, and I forget to do things. For example, this Inspire Me series will probably end after this post, or maybe after 2 posts.

That’s all for now, I might post something else later.

